Californian drivers, put your phones down
As of today, it is illegal to simultaneously drive and talk on a cell phone in California, excepting only calls to emergency services. There's no grace period, and under-18s can't even use a hands-free kit. You guys just have to completely shut up now. One's first conviction gets a $20 fine, while repeat hits are for $50. Administrative fees will be added on top, potentially tripling the base fine. The law doesn't specifically ban texting, however, which remains under the ambit of driving while distracted. The Law
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License permitting non-commercial sharing with attribution. Boing Boing is a trademark of Happy Mutants LLC in the United States and other countries.